DIY Jewelery box

I got a new necklace for this Christmas and I wanted to keep it safe when back home. So I realized that I don’t have any Jewelery box at home. After scanning some on the internet I didn’t found any one that I liked and I gave up and postponed the search until later. The following day I was shopping in Hamburg and also stopped by a store called “Idee”, which means as much as idea in German. They are the paradise for anyone that is into crafting and the store is huge and I only went in the check out their Decopatch paper. Next to the paper they had some beautiful wooden boxes. And suddenly I had an idea (Yeah the store definitely deserves it’s name ;)), I just make my own jewelery box! My mind was running like crazy and within a few minutes I had it finished in my mind. So I went ahead and bought some of the Decopatch paper, one of the wooden boxes, some purple color and a brush.

Image

So this weekend I finally had time to go for this project. I started yesterday with painting the whole box in purple. Image

After letting it dry over night I went on today with putting up some highlights with Decopatch. You don’t know what that is? here is a small video on how to do it:

I choose three different types of paper and did the lid with one, the front and back with the second and the sides with the last one.

Image

For the inlay I took an old black velvet shirt that I still had but never wore and started with cutting out. I have some of stud earrings that I wanted to be able to keep in pairs so I came up with the idea is making some kind of cushion with segments in it where I can put them in. After cutting the pieces I made seams on the edges and fixated them with my sewing machine.

Image

I wanted the put my hanging earrings on some braid trim in the top of the box and I still had some that I bought about half a year ago which were fitting nicely with the colors and the whole set up.

The final part was the to bring these two things together. I just took double-sided adhesive tape to fixate the velvet inside the box.

Image

I am really satisfied with how this worked out and I already love the end result!

What do you think of it? Do you also want to make one? I was also thinking about decorating it with some stones/shells or braid trims on the outside of the box.

Do you have any ideas about how to make it even nicer?

Enjoy your Sunday evening!

One thought on “DIY Jewelery box

  1. Pingback: DIY Decopatch Chain Lights | Sari's Corner

Leave a Reply

