Noctiluca bloom

Last night I was on a birthday party of a friend and at some point someone said that there is a Noctiluca bloom on the beach and we decided to go and check it out.
Noctiluca scintillans is a dinoflagellate that exhibits bioluminescence, when disturbed. So if waves crash on the beach or people swim in the water they start to glow in a blue light. I quickly passed by my house and picked up my camera and my tripod and after squeezing everyone in different cars we left for the beach. It was an amazing sight and on first glance I thought my pictures weren’t that great. But after importing them to Lightroom and playing around with the white balance and the exposure, they turned out to be pretty nice. I also did some major noise reduction, but I am quite satisfied with how they turned out.
On some of the picture you can see my friends running in and out of the water and they had a lot of fun 🙂 Unfortunately we had to leave after a short time again because there was a thunderstorm rolling in and we were asked to leave the beach out of security reasons. That also is the reason you can’t see any stars on the pictures which would have made them even greater.

Have you ever seen or even swam in a Noctiluca bloom?

3 thoughts on “Noctiluca bloom

  1. Pingback: Mystery – Photo 101 – Day 10 | Sari's Corner

  2. Pingback: Mystery – Photo 101 – Day 10 | Sari's Corner

  3. This is a great picture. Absolutely stunning. I would not have thought to even attempt a photo but I am glad you did. We have blooms here in FL usually twice a year but unfortunately the light pollution makes it harder to see. I have kayaked at Bio Bay on Vieques, Puerto Rico and that was amazing. It was a moonless night and you could even see a light trail made by fish swimming around. I have also seen phosphorescent “String of Pearls” diving at night. It it a tradition to turn off all of your light on a night dive to see what glows. I did not want to get out of the water it was so cool. You win the Mystery Photo award in my book.

Leave a Reply

