Home – Photo 101 – Day 1

Today’s assignment was to post a picture that expresses home for you. My first reaction was: I have too many homes I could post about! When I was a kid we moved a lot and switched countries 3 times. So I have a home were my roots are (I posted about this already here), but I also have a home on La Gomera, a canary island we used to live on for three years, I had several homes in Hamburg and now I have a home here on my island. But then I thought about it a bit more and I realized that whenever I go back to Hamburg, I feel at home. Always when I pass the city border to this city that I lived in for almost 16 years I get this feeling that I am where I belong. I just get the whole way this city works, I know my way around and most of all, I still have very important people there that I meet whenever I am around. I love to take my cameraΒ  for a walk in Hamburg and therefore I have tons of pictures of this city and as it is not just one place there that means home but more the feeling of it I find it hard to choose something. So today I will show you a small gallery with what are the pictures I would most connect with this feeling.

While having a look on other peoples posts I found this one that so nicely expresses what I felt when thinking about this assignment:

We may leave a house, a town, a room, but that does not mean those places leave us.

 

 

11 thoughts on “Home – Photo 101 – Day 1

Leave a Reply

